Skip to the content

Who is eligible for SDA funding?

Who is eligible for SDA funding?

Who is eligible for SDA funding?

With the rollout of the NDIS in 2016, there has been a lot of information to digest in regards to what funding is available, who it applies to and who can access it. Identifying people that might be eligible for this funding is proving to be a bit of a mission. But, let’s start with what we already know.

Specialist Disability Accommodation or SDA is a small cohort within this funding that exists so that people with an extreme functional impairment or very high supports needs can move into a dwelling that has been specifically designed to suit their needs. It is estimated that only 6% of all NDIS participants will be eligible for SDA funding, so how do you know if you or someone you know fits the bill?

Being eligible for SDA funding has huge benefits that to most participants sound too good to be true. We often have families that just don’t believe that we are able to build a brand new purpose built home for either themselves or their loved ones without them contributing a cent the construction costs. Throw in the fact that they can actually choose where they want to live and have a say in the exact block that the home is built on, it’s understandable that some might be slightly dubious. Let’s get something clear though – Not all SDA Providers (which is us) offer the same type of service. I won’t go into too much detail now though as there’s a lot that makes LHA unique, you’ll just have to keep an eye out for one of my next posts that will dive a little deeper into our business model.

So, if you think that you or someone you know has an extreme functional impairment or very high support needs and is currently living in housing that isn’t suitable, what do you do now? You’ll need to engage an occupational therapist (either through your support co-ordinator or on your own) to work with you on an assessment that will determine your eligibility as well as your level of funding should you be eligible. We can also point you in the right direction as we’ve worked with many fantastic OT’s that specialise in these reports.  There are currently 4 different levels of funding that can be accessed;

  • Improved Liveability
  • Robust
  • Fully Accessible
  • High Physical Support

The type and severity of the disability will determine what category will be then be included in the NDIS Plan. We, as service providers, then claim that funding through the NDIS as reimbursement for the land and construction costs.

Being proactive is the key to a successful SDA application. It’s critical that you choose your supports wisely when starting the SDA journey. It’s an extremely complex process and by choosing the right people to help to steer you in the right direction will make your application and construction journey as smooth and fast as possible.

If you have any questions or queries regarding the SDA application process or SDA in general please reach out via our website at and one of our specialists will be more than happy to have a chat.

NDIS News 0 comments

About the author

comments powered by Disqus